Did you know that conventional jelly is often made with gelatin (animal bones)? There are not many vegan jelly brands around (listed below). So the simplest option is just to make your own. We have a few variations here: jell-O is simply the American brand name for jelly, so go with these gelatin-free recipes. Then we have Kanten (a clear jelly from Japan). And finally we have booze-sozzled jellies, often called ‘jello shots’, for adults only!
Vegan Jelly Slice (Amy Le Creations) is a pretty raspberry dessert, with a light lemon flavour and soft biscuit base.
Vegan Kanten Jelly
Kanten Jelly (Clearspring) is as simple as a dessert gets. Just add organic apple juice to fruit and agar flakes, then set.
Coconut, Lime & Pomegranate Kanten (Olives for Dinner) is dinner-party worthy. To easily get the arils, tap the pomegranate with a wooden spoon into a bowl, or peel the pomegranate and remove the paper skin, then let them float in water, scooping the arils up with a colander.
Vegan Jello Shots
Cherry Vegan Jello Shots (Namely Marly) are sure to brighten up any party. Just ensure both the vodka and cherries are vegan (some maraschino/glace cherries may contain carmine from beetles to colour).
Where to Buy Vegan Jelly
Just Wholefoods Vegan Jelly mixes are made with real fruits and are free from gelatin. They are in plastic packaging, so recycle with household waste or at supermarket bag recycling bins. They are in 4 flavours:
Serve with their vegan custard powder mix. You can also buy Vegeset, a vegan setting agent for sweet and savoury recipes, and can be used in place of gelatine for any recipe. It works well with any plant-based milk. Made from a seaweed gelling agent, one pack sets up to 5 pints.